Cabraal Is Back In The Governor’s Seat 
Posted 14,September

By Chaveendra Dunuwille

In Local News

Listen to the Article


Former State Minister of Money and Capital Market Ajith Nivard Cabraal resigned from all his ministerial posts yesterday and submitted a letter of resignation to the Secretary-General of Parliament, Dhammika Dasanayake indicating his resignation from parliament. 

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa appointed the former minister as the 16th Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka. He will succeed Professor W.D. Lakshman, who only remained in the position for two years. 

The appointment which will come into effect from the 15th of September, 2021 will mark Cabraal’s 3rd stint as the Governor of the Central Bank. His previous terms collectively lasted for 9 years from the 1st of July, 2006 to the 9th of January, 2015. 

Nivard Cabraal was the first chartered accountant to hold the position of Finance Minister and was also the Past President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the South Asia Federation of Accountants. He was a key contributor to the ‘Mahinda Chintana’ manifesto of former president and current Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa.